You will never believe this.

27 Feb

I know you won’t believe it because it happened to me and I’m still in shock.

Do you see that goal there? "to have a Baby Boy!" Totally not accomplished.

Do you see that goal there? “to have a Baby Boy!”
FAIL.

The unthinkable has happened. I am sitting at home and am still pregnant.

After a sleepless night last night, I got a call at 5am saying to come in for the induction and we arrived at the hospital about an hour later. I hadn’t dilated at all since my appointment last week, so they put some kind of drug (I can’t remember what it’s called) on my cervix to make it soften and dilate.

Over the course of the next 12 hours I started having contractions about 1.5-3 minutes apart, but they never really started to get painful or intense.

See the printout on the right? Those are my contractions!

Please refer to printout on the right for proof that I WAS actually having contractions.

My doctor finally came in and checked my progress and absolutely n.o.t.h.i.n.g. had changed during the 12 hours I had been there. What? Yes. No progress.

Our doctor gave us our options:
1. Go home and wait a few days
2. Have the doctor break my water and hope things got going

Even though the thought of having him break my water was really appealing at the time (because then we definitely would be having a baby within 24 hours), we realized that the risks were just too high. After all, nothing happened after the first round of drugs, so if there still was no progress after that I would just end up having to have a c-section. No thank you.

So here I am at home, hanging out with Michael and my mama (who traveled here just for this… sorry mom!), trying to figure out what to do for the next few days. Any ideas? Watch more 24? Um, yes, don’t mind if I do. Obviously there will be another few rounds of self-therapy self-tanning…

Induction pt. 2 coming Saturday, March 2. Stay tuned. Let’s hope this next round is more successful…

13 Responses to “You will never believe this.”

  1. Lisa Price February 27, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    Oh Dani, I am so sorry I was thinking of you all day. I was praying for you!! Go on lots of walks and if all else fells, sit at the top of some stairs, have Michael grab your legs and pull you down the stairs. That will defiantly get those contractions going!! Wink, Wink

    • dani :) March 1, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      hahahaha that is the worst idea i have ever heard! haha thanks lisa, that made me laugh 🙂

  2. Laura Bean February 27, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Oh man! How disappointing! We’re thinking of you guys. Hope all goes well this week! Love y’all!

    • dani :) March 1, 2013 at 10:59 am #

      thanks laura!! we love you guys too!

  3. audspain February 27, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    Dani. While this is very terrible, if you have the baby on March 2, he will share a birthday with both Meghan AND Ashley’s son Colson!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Perfect fate.

    • dani :) March 1, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      well sounds like march 2 is a popular day to be born! i guess it is fate. unless of course it doesn’t work round 2… yikes!

  4. Heather February 27, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Dani my heart goes out to you! I’ve never been in a situation even close to this so I can only imagine what it’s like. We will pray for contractions!!

    As far as your “To Do” I think you should watch Community and have lots of smoothies. That’s what I would do anyway! We miss you!

    • dani :) March 1, 2013 at 10:57 am #

      i’m not a community fan (yet… it’s on my to-do list), but i’ve been all over the smoothies 🙂

  5. Ashley February 27, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    I second Audrey’s comment! Haha. But I’m so sorry you had to go through that and get your hopes up! Super frustrating, I’m sure! March 2nd is a great day to have a bday though…

    • dani :) March 1, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      thanks ashley 🙂 definitely frustrating! it sounds like our little guys are destined to be birthday twins (separated by a few years…) haha

  6. Meagan February 28, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    That is so crazy! They gave you Pitocin & nothing happened? Hope he comes on his own and very soon!!

    • dani :) March 1, 2013 at 10:59 am #

      crazy right? they never actually gave me pitocin because my cervix wasn’t dilated enough and didn’t respond fast enough to the medicine. i’m just hoping it’s made enough progress since wednesday so the party can get started tomorrow!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Birth Story :) | sweating for two - March 15, 2013

    […] at induction had failed (though I didn’t appreciate it as a good thing at the time. Remember this emo post?), which allowed me to start to come to terms with the inevitability of a c-section. Part of the […]

Leave a Reply

