No News

21 Feb

You know that saying ‘no news is good news’? Well turns out it’s a dirty lie.

I know this because I had a doctor’s appointment today and found out that not much is going on in terms of progress for me. I’m somewhere between 1 and 2 centimeters dilated and about 60% effaced. Just to recap, I was a little under 1 centimeter dilated and 50% effaced at my last appointment a week ago. Sigh.

All last week I could feel the little guy using his head as a battering ram against my cervix (which, btw, feels about as awesome as it sounds), so I was pretty sure I would see a bit more progress, but no dice. And I was planning on having my membranes stripped today but I wasn’t dilated enough. Sad day.

He (my doctor) also told me that I have a “pretty decent sized” little person in me, which, he went on to explain, means that the little monster is probably “only” 8 or 9 lbs. Does that seem gigantic to anyone else? Because I’m thinking it sounds absolutely huge.

On the bright side, I still have a few more days to process.

I’ve been thinking seriously all week about this whole “labor” thing… and also the whole “baby” thing, and it’s a little overwhelming. I mean, I obviously knew what the end result of my adventures through pregnancy was, but I’m feeling seriously, seriously under-qualified to deal with the massive project of raising a human baby into a successful adult.

So even though I feel like I’ve been waiting forย years to go into labor, I’m really appreciating the extra time at this very moment.

One thing for sure is that I’m definitely down to days (and not weeks… or months…) because I have an induction scheduled for next week. The plan is that I’m going to go into the hospital for a Fetal Non-Stress Test (remember the last time I had one of those?) and if everything looks good I’ll be induced on Wednesday morning. 6 DAYS! What? I know, crazy.

Having an induction makes me really nervous that I won’t be able to do a natural birth. When labor is induced, doctors use a drug called Pitocin, a synthetic form of the hormone oxytocin which stimulates contractions. With Pitocin, however, contractions come a lot harder and stronger, making them waaay more painful than natural contractions… meaning that it’s much more difficult to deal with the pain. And. When labor is induced the chances of a cesarean increase as well.

I guess what this all boils down to is that I have had a bit of a stressful day trying to wrap my mind around everything. I’m trying to stay positive, but I’m also (kinda) panicking a little. Only 6 more days of pregnancy… going into labor… the possibility of not being able to follow anything in my plan… coming home with a baby… my life changing forever… Yikes. That’s a lot to deal with.

Um, yes. Now that you’re thinking about it, I wouldn’t mind some words of advice… The countdown is on, after all, and I’m feeling the deadline coming up quick…

9 Responses to “No News”

  1. roundtoravishing February 21, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

    Good luck and try not to worry too much, easier said than done I know. Soon it will all be done and you will have your LO out in the world and the entire labor thing will just seem like no big deal.

    • dani :) February 21, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      that’s what i keep trying to tell myself ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the advice!

  2. mommalougee February 21, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    Honestly, if there’s no real health threat, I would say don’t let them induce you! That baby will not stay in there forever. So, if you’re more comfortable without pitocin, then by all means don’t let them bully you into an induction! Just sayin’.

    • dani :) February 21, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

      i’m seriously considering my options over here… were you induced with ella (ps if my little guy had been a girl he would have been named ella–i just love it so much!)? that dang pitocin stresses me out and i’m just praying that i go into labor before wednesday. i think i’m just going to talk to my doc after the NST and see what my options are. thanks for the advice!

      • mommalougee February 22, 2013 at 11:35 am #

        You know, honestly I was kind of naive about pitocin and induction until after I had Ella. I remember by the time my due date came I was like praying for them to induce me, but luckily my doctor was pretty pro letting things happen and anti-induction. She came four days late, but she was ready! 5.5 hours of labor later and she was here. No time for pain meds (which was what I thought I wanted). Definitely communicate with your doc! And in the end, as long as mom and baby are healthy, that’s the most important part of the “plan.” Rooting for some labor this weekend!

  3. Emily Thomas February 22, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    My water broke on its own, but unfortunately I ended up having an emergency c-section. If you want a worst-case scenario, I wrote about it on our blog not too long ago. Good luck Dani!

    • dani :) February 22, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      i’m definitely checking that out ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks emily!

  4. Lene Kristine Botolfsen February 22, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    dani. you will be the best mother ever. because you are a wonderful person. and hilarious. and awesome. and you love the gospel. and you have a great husband. and also great parents to look to as examples. and i think when you worry that you are under-qualified, it only means that you will try your very hardest to always be the best mother you can be. and it will show. i would be worried if you were not worried you would do a good job. good luck x 1 million. i love you very much.

  5. jessica February 22, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

    Ahh, I totally feel you ! I have three more weeks at the latest and i’m totally already in panic mode! However, they keep telling me i’m small and making me do extra tests. I have the feeling i’m going to have to be induced. Good Luck! It will all turn out wonderful!

Leave a Reply

