38 Week Bumpdate :)

3 Feb
38 Weeks and counting...

38 Weeks and counting…

Sometimes I forget how big that belly is… and then I’ll walk by a mirror or window and catch a glimpse of my reflection and then realize that I really am looking pretty gigantic these days. The good news? I’M ALMOST DOOOOONE!! I want to shout it from the rooftops.

Wanna hear a secret?

(I’m going to feel really dumb if this doesn’t pan out, but…) I think this little guy isn’t going to hang out inside my uterus for two more weeks. I’ve got contractions going on pretty regularly, and even though I’ve never done this whole thing before, I’m pretty sure that’s significant.

It’s weird because I have been having Braxton Hicks contractions for awhile and just didn’t realize what was going on. I’ve alsoย been having a lot of weird lower back pain that is really dull and achy and cramps that feel suspiciously like menstrual
cramps but stronger and over a larger surface area… obviously.

[Aside: I got a complaint today from one of Michael’s friends who will remain unnamed (ahem… it was Seth) that the content of my blog is “inappropriate” as per the fact that I reveal a bit too many details about pregnancy. If you happen to agree… Don’t worry, either you or your wife will experience pregnancy sometime in the likely near future and you’ll know how much real life I actually edited out of my retelling :)]

It all feels seriously, seriously weird. And painful! The other night at dinner I had a really painful contraction and then kind of panicked about doing a natural birth. I mean seriously, that little contraction that wasn’t even a labor contraction was enough to make me realize how painful this whole process is going to be. Yikes.

The weird thing about my contractions is that they only happen at night. During they day I’m great, but then the sun goes down and things start to… contract. They’ve actually been painful enough to wake me up. But by the time the sun comes up they’ve magically vanished. Makes me think that he’ll come in the PM.

I’ve also gotten a bad case of nesting. You should see my apartment! I’ve even been cleaning the walls… It’s out of control. Let’s hope my little guy comes soon and saves me from slowly losing my mind in a cleaning frenzy!

13 Responses to “38 Week Bumpdate :)”

  1. roundtoravishing February 3, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    I am so jealous of your 38 weeks, I can’t wait to not be pregnant and I am 30 weeks as of tomorrow.
    Having done all of this before and having natural childbirth I will be totally honest with you. It is not fun, but you don’t even think about the pain or any of the yucky stuff after the baby comes! We were built to do it ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck!

    • dani :) February 8, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

      good luck to you too! for some reason the last several weeks have flown by for me, so hopefully they will for you too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Audrey February 3, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    Dan dan. Love you. And love your “aside” for your words about Seth. If he finds your blog inappropriate, he should stop reading it. End of story.

    And YAYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!! You’re almost done!!! I’m so excited for baby E!!!!!!

    • dani :) February 8, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

      i just love you, audge. google hangout soon? please?

  3. jessica February 3, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Okay – Laren makes fun of me because I want to have our little guy all natural! Also, I get braxton hicks at night and only at night – I never have them during the day!

    • dani :) February 8, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      michael is the same way with me! i’ve tried to explain it to him, but i just don’t think he’s gonna get it until this whole thing goes down… if he ever does ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Roxanne Thorpe February 3, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    So excited for you. Back pain? All my labor was pretty much back pain/aches. Sounds like it will be coming soon. Early congratulations! Hopefully we’ll see you at Aspen Grove in June!

    • dani :) February 8, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

      ugh, turns out i got a little too excited about those back pains. sad day. and we’ll definitely be there in june! i can’t wait to see everyone!

  5. hojmenielsen February 3, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    Dani, oh my goodness. I’m week 34+0 now and I so don’t feel ready for any of what you’re describing. I’m so scared I’ll never get to the “man, I hope she comes out soon” stage of my pregnancy. I don’t know whether it’s normal to freak out at this point, but AAARGH… I can’t believe your boy is due in 2 weeks! Seriously, you’ll be a mommy before you know it. Man, I wish we lived closer to one another. Happy birth in case you go into labor soon-ish. Sounds like your body is prepping for it anyways. Good luck hugs ‘n kisses

    • dani :) February 8, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

      oh man, i’m sure you’ll get there pretty soon ๐Ÿ™‚ i didn’t know you were having a GIRL!! that is so awesome! our babies should get married (you know, in like 25 years…)! i’m excited to see pictures of your little sweetie ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Lene Kristine Botolfsen February 6, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    aaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!!! i can’t wait for baby leno to come!!!! dani, i wish i could be there, holding your hand. but i kinda wish i couldn’t. and so do probably you. anywho. good luck. and love you tons!

  7. Lene Kristine Botolfsen February 6, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    ps: you look as beautiful as ever!

    • dani :) February 8, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      hahaha i think you feel the same way as michael… i’m pretty sure he is absolutely dreading labor. like way more than i am. he’s worried he’s going to pass out. i’ll let you know when things get going and you can hop on a flight to hold my hand while michael lies unconscious on the floor.

Leave a Reply

