After a Long Absence… 36 Week Bumpdate!

21 Jan
36 week bumpdate

4 Weeks(ish) Left!

Helloooo blogosphere! After an extended disappearing act, I’m back and ready to party. And blog. And have a baby… because I am so sick of being pregnant πŸ™‚

First of all, I apologize for having absconded my duties for so many weeks. Months. Eh, who’s counting?

Second, I have a lot of updating to do! I’ve been reading my brains out about childbirth and infant care, and I’m ready to share everything I’ve learned with the world. Get excited.

Now to get down to business, here are some of the changes that have taken place since my last post:

Heartburn: Omg. It’s like the oven has been turned up a few hundred degrees. I have gone through soooo many packs of Tums it’s just ridiculous.

Serious Drop in Energy: I have been sleeping ridiculous amounts at night. And during the day. It’s a little crazy how tired I am all of the time! The only problem is that sleeping has become incredibly uncomfortable. I can’t sleep on my back, I can’t sleep on my tummy, and I can only stay on each side for so long before my hips start aching. Not fun.

Stretch Marks: The Greatest Tragedy of All: A little piece of me dies a little every time I see a new one. And yes, I am keeping tabs on all of them (this is a pretty big statement because there are just so many of them). Breaks my heart. Right now they are growing like weeds on my hips and are just starting to form right under my bump. Too much info? Sorry! At least I’m not posting pictures… yet.

Swollen Feet & Ankles: This might be the most bizarre of all. I was really excited to get some Le Chameau rain boots (hello, I live in Seattle, the land of the endless monsoon). Who else owns Le Chameau rain boots? Yes, this trendy duchess:

Me and Kate are twinners.

Me and Kate are twinners.

We’re both pregnant and we have the same boots! Unfortunately, my ankles have been so swollen these days that I can’t get them on. Sad, sad day.

Apple Juice Cravings: Michael has figured out that this is the key to my heart:

Heavenly.

Heavenly. I could drink it every moment of the day.

Hoarding Baby Items: Diaper bag, car seat, stroller, diaper genie, ergobaby carrier, play yard, swaddling blankets, boppy pillow, rocking chair, you name it. If my baby needs it, I’m all over it. Around Christmas I realized that this little boy is coming sooner than I thought, and then the collecting began. I feel like a little rat hoarding baby things in the corner of our living room (because we haven’t quite figured out what to do with it yet…). You should see our stash, I kind of love it!

I’m getting pretty excited about this little boy coming and it’s actually starting to feel real! In the meantime I’ve been practicing my swaddling skills…

bears

It’s kind of fun! I read the book The Happiest Baby on the Block by Dr. Harvey Karp and it convinced me that swaddling the little man is going to make life a lot easier. More on that later though.

Happy Monday everybody! You’ll hear more from me soon πŸ™‚

13 Responses to “After a Long Absence… 36 Week Bumpdate!”

  1. Rebecca Payton January 21, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    Unfortunately, Collin HATES to be swaddled. Lol He wants access to his hands and LOVES to kick those chubby little legs! =)

  2. dani :) January 21, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    seriously? i know that most babies outgrow it by about 2 or 3 months, but has he always hated it?

    • Rebecca Payton January 21, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Yeah, he has always hated it. Lol We tried it having heard it soothes newborns but he never cared for it. But mos babies do! πŸ™‚

  3. KQB January 21, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    Hey Dani! You look RADIANT! I hated that word! So from me: you look darling!!! So just a little info on swaddling…I have helped a mother of twins for 16 months every Wed night while her hubby is at YM and have watched and helped her from day 1 swaddle these babies. She swaddled them SO tight they are just like straight little papoose boards!!! I have since learned to swaddle since we didn’t use this technique when I had kids. I think it’s great! Her kids are soooo good. She STILL swaddles them for sleeping.
    About 3’mo again she started swaddling them w/o their arms in, only their legs and bodies but their still being swaddled to this day. Just FYI! Cant wait for your little guy to get here!

    • dani :) January 23, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      that’s good to know, thanks for the info! i have been wondering about how tight is too tight… i’m excited to start experimenting on an actual baby πŸ™‚

  4. KQB January 21, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    Sorry – about 3 months ago….

  5. Ariel January 22, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    Hooray! I’m glad you’re posting again! I met up with Lynne last week and we mentioned we missed your blogging. Can’t believe the little Everton will be here so soon’

    • dani :) January 23, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      oh man, i’m so jealous that you both get to live in new york! that sounds so fun. i miss seeing you both! when are we going to do a hangout date again? that was so fun πŸ™‚

  6. roundtoravishing January 23, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    My daughter loved to be swaddled, I am hoping this one does too!
    I also just started posting again too. I am super jealous that you are just a couple weeks away from your DD, I am so over pregnancy and I am only 28 weeks and 3 days long!

    • dani :) January 23, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

      i love your blog! i have some other friends who fell off the blogging map in november too, there must have been a serious lack of creativity going around… i haven’t been able to stay out of the carbs either. those things are such an addicting tragedy πŸ™‚

  7. Lene Kristine Botolfsen January 23, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    please fly to norway on your magical pregnancy wings and swaddle me.

    • dani :) January 23, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

      i’m booking my flight right now. i’ll just need to find a swaddling blanket made for an adult… i have a sneaking suspicion that they might be called straight jackets.

  8. Brass Peacock January 28, 2013 at 6:09 am #

    I am seriously freaked out by the mass numbers of stuffed bears in your living room.

Leave a Reply

