My Favorite Weird Food: Chia Seeds

30 Oct
Chia Seeds

{source}
If watered regularly and exposed to sunshine, your nutritious seeds will double as a friendly plant.

I talked about chia seeds in this post, but I don’t think I fully communicated how great they are (as per the fact that the focus was on the oatmeal rather than the chia seeds). But now is the time to talk about them in their full, slimy glory.

I first heard of these weird little seeds in the book Born to Run by Christopher McDougall. He talks about how the Tarahumara Native Americans in South America use these seeds mixed with water and lemon juice as fuel during long (and I mean seriously long–think 24-hour) runs. They are one of the few non-meat foods that is a complete source of protein.

Born to Run

{source}
This book is great.
Go read it if you love running.
Or if you think your body wasn’t made for running.
Or just if you know how to read.

So… McDougall claims somewhere around the middle of the book that eating chia seeds on a run will give you renewed energy and magically make running as easy as breathing. …At least that’s how I read it. So I mixed chia seeds with yellow gatorade and hit a mountain trail. And after about 20 minutes I felt like I was dying. So I tried the chia seeds. They absolutely didn’t work. Like at all.

Regardless, I still love chia seeds. They are so weird. But so good for you and fun to eat. They don’t really taste good, per se, because they don’t really taste like anything. It’s the texture that makes them so interesting. But don’t take my word for it… go buy some and try them yourself!

Ps: here’s the nutritional information…

Omega 3’s: When I hear “omega 3’s,” I usually think of fish (yummm). But turns out that chia seeds contain a whole lot of these bad boys. They can reduce the risk of breast cancer, lower blood pressure, reduce inflammation, decrease your risk of depression, and even make your husband do the dishes. Psych! Unfortunately I haven’t found any kind of nutrient that will make that happen.

Also, turns out that omega 3’s are important to your little guy or girl’s growth! They are absolutely essential for neurological and visual development. And they help make breast milk after giving birth. Not bad, I say.

Anyway, since they are such weird little things, I’m excited to see what I come up with this week. Go buy some! Do it now! Even if you only sprinkle them on toast, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

