Dawn of the Dead Dash

30 Oct
Dawn of the Dead Dash

{source}
This went down this weekend. I went into full-on zombie mode, and it was awesome!

I have been ridiculously excited about this little event for way. too. long. But it finally came! I spent most of the day buying fake blood and Halloween makeup and planning my costume. About a half hour before leaving, I was covered in said fake blood and wearing my running shorts and a t-shirt.

Luckily, I had to run outside before we left to grab our laundry, at which point I realized that it was much colder than I’d anticipated…

So I ran back inside and changed into a warmer outfit. Unfortunately my warmer running clothes are more expensive, so I couldn’t pour fake blood all over them. But I think I captured the spirit of the zombie anyway… what do you think?

Zombieness

I am such a freak.

I wish I would have gotten a picture in my first costume though… it was a whole lot bloodier and zombier.

Anyway, we arrived a bit late (as per the fact that I sent us to the wrong start… whoops), but jumped into the dash anyway. Turns out that it was a lot more of a game than a race… weird.

The whole idea was that you all start at one location, run to three different checkpoints and then get free beer when you arrive at the finish with your bib marked off to prove you’d been to all three locations.

Now, maybe it’s the fact that I am fresh out of Provo (where no one–seriously, no one–drinks beer), but I was expecting that everybody would be all over the weirdness of this race just because of the race. But turns out that most of the people we met and were running with were only there for the beer. Come to think of it… it’s definitely because I’m fresh out of Provo.

It was fun to dodge zombies and run around Seattle, but we just skipped the finish line altogether. Turns out it was less of a finish line and more of a line for the bar. Should have seen that coming…

I had an absolute blast anyway! It reminded me of playing fugitive in high school. So much fun. More of a game than a race, but a good workout nonetheless.

And I should probably mention that I felt pretty hardcore running pretty much the whole thing when everybody else was walking–yes, I am 5.5 months pregnant thankyouverymuch. And I got a stranger compliment on my bump πŸ™‚ I just love those. And I love that they are about how cute my bump is, rather than how big it is. I’m guessing that’s not gonna last my entire pregnancy though.

All in all, probably not something I’d do again, but it was fun! I think when I dish out money for races in the future, I’ll shoot for the ones that bring out the runners rather than the beer-thirsty college kids πŸ™‚

Zombie Romance

Post-Dash… Sweaty and hyped up on endorphins.
Btw, in case you were wondering, it took me a full hour and a half to detangle my hair. I do it every year and swear every year that I’ll never do it again, but by the time Halloween comes around again I’ve forgotten what a pain it is to get out. At least it’s only once a year…

I’m excited to run next year’s Halloween race with a little frankenbaby outside of my body πŸ™‚

One Response to “Dawn of the Dead Dash”

  1. Brass Peacockah November 4, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Please promise me that your little baby will be a bloody zombie next year. Some moms dress their babies in cowboy hats or fairy wings, but not you, no, your baby will be a monster.

Leave a Reply

