Overnight Oats–Not for the Faint of Heart

25 Oct
Baby Feet

Two little crossed feet. I just love those tiny toes πŸ™‚

I had an ultrasound today! Nothing terribly exciting, just like my doctor’s appointment yesterday, but I got to see my little guy wiggling around. So fun πŸ™‚ He’s starting to look a little cramped because he’s getting so much bigger. Turns out that he’s still small though. I’m halfway through my 23rd week, but he still looks like he’s almost 21 weeks old. I just keep hoping that he’ll catch up to where he’s supposed to be by February 18.

And I’m not sure if I’ve been reading too much Harry Potter, but… does he look a little like he-who-must-not-be-named? I love looking at his profile in ultrasound pictures, but straight on… yikes.

Babyface

The line across the top is his arm with his little hand on top of his head and his forehead is just to the left of center in this picture. Those big black holes to the right of his forehead? Eye sockets. Yikes. I’m hoping he looks a bit cuter (read: less creepy) when he’s born… Is it bad that my baby’s face creeps me out a little?

Creepy or not, I just love him and can’t wait to meet him! And see his whole face and not just the bones. In the meantime, I’ll just keep looking at those cute little feet.

On to food? Yes, I think that’s always a good choice.

I was so excited to wake up this morning because I made overnight oats last night! I’ve heard that they’re something you either love or hate, so I was a little wary, but they actually turned out pretty well. I think I’m going to keep making these yummy things. Beware: if you don’t like Greek yogurt, this might not be the breakfast for you…

I found this recipe on this blog and just added a lot of chopped up apple and a tablespoon of agave nectar to give it a little more flavor.

Overnight Oats

Okay, let’s get real.
They look pretty freaky.
But trust me, they are worth it. SO good for you!

Overnight Oats
6 oz. Greek yogurt, any flavor (I just used plain)
2 tablespoons chia seeds (have you read Born to Run? I love these gooey little things! More on them later though…)
2/3 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup milk

Mix, mix, mix, cover, and let sit overnight in your fridge. In the morning you can add fruit, a little more milk to make it less thick, or pretty much anything else you think would make it better, because there’s no way around it… overnight oats are pretty bland.

Overnight Oats Transformation

See the transformation? Overnight the oats get soft and puffy and the chia seeds really get–there’s no other way to describe them–slimy. It’s in a good way though, I promise. Make sure to try this because it is so yummy!

This recipe made a lot of oats. You could actually have it for breakfast for two mornings. I kept thinking about them throughout the day and kept going back… so… yeah, they’re gone. All eaten. But don’t worry, I’m gonna make them again soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

