I made kale.

21 Oct

Okay, I really hate to say this, but I think kale might just be unsalvageable for me. I might just have to give up on it. I’m a little sad because I had such high hopes for it, but guess what. It’s just gross.

And I say that after trying really hard to find a way to like it. Sorry kids, I will be taking a loosely permanent vacation from kale effective immediately.

Take a look at my fully-documented journey with kale this week:

Steamed Kale

I chopped. I wilted. I steamed.
And then I puked.

To be clear, I think the puking was pregnancy-related, but it still happened. And for that I blame the vegetable. If you’re curious, I used this recipe, which sounded really tasty at the time, but… well, you know the gory details. Bonus? It made my apartment smell disgusting for a full 24 hours.

Aside from my quest to become a lover of all veggies, I might have made a friend! After we met, we started talking about healthy food and turns out that been a 100% organic chick for the past three years. What? I know. She’s so cool. I’m gonna learn all of her ways.

I’ve also been reading like a maniac. Harry Potter? Of course. Well, I’ve been listening to Harry Potter, but I’ve been reading this book:

Run Like a Mother

{source}
Run Like a Mother: How to Get Moving–And Not Lose Your Family, Job, or Sanity by Dimity McDowell and Sarah Bowen Shea

As per the fact that I will be a mother in less than 4 months, I decided that this book was a necessity. And it has gotten me so excited about running after the baby comes!

Meanwhile, my C210K plan managed to get a little off-track (illness, you know). So I just skipped ahead a few weeks and life is now great. All of a sudden I love running again!

When I’m on a run, there are 2 parts that I really hate: the warm-up and the last mile. I realized that the reason I was hating my workouts was because that was all I was getting. Skipping up to the 4 mile runs has been so.much.better. I actually like it again and can remember why I love running so much!

Also, something exciting happened this week.

Official Ballot

I ♥ democracy.

Our official ballots came! Michael and I read through the whole voter’s pamphlet (read: I read through the entire packet and then gave him the condensed version) and then voted. So awesome. The last presidential debate is tomorrow. Can you believe it? Election season is the bomb.

Leave a Reply

