21 Week Bumpdate

7 Oct

Baby Bump 21 Weeks

(Sorry about the white-on-white!)

New this week: H.E.A.R.T.B.U.R.N. This is going to sound really dumb, but before this week, I didn’t think heartburn was real. But now I can’t eat anything without that telltale burning in my chest. It is the most bizarre sensation. Luckily, I have my perma-companions with me for such times…

Tums

I’ve started thinking of these as little dessert candies instead of fast-acting antacids.

Bonus: In the name of accurate record-keeping, I should probably let you know one more new thing this week. Pregnancy has had a huge impact on my bra size. TMI? Oh well. I remember having a 1-woman dance party when I graduated from an A to a B cup (where I’ve been for the entirety of my adult life), and let’s just say that I have been dancing my way up 3 cup sizes. No joke.

One more thing, SO sorry about not posting my second kale recipe! My stove broke on Wednesday and it messed up my entire schedule. It’s fixed now, but I’m gonna make it next week, so stay tuned 🙂 I know you all are beside yourselves with anticipation, but, alas, you must wait a few more days.

In the meantime, I am going to enjoy watching what’s left of this with him and eating a few of these.

Happy weekend!

One Response to “21 Week Bumpdate”

  1. Ariel October 21, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Dani! Cool blog. Can’t wait for your little guy to get here.
    One way we eat kale (and lot of veggies) is in our favorite soup. We call it “THE soup” (not very original, I know) because we love it so much.

    Here’s the recipe:
    2-3 chicken breasts, cooked
    2 potato-chopped into 1/2″ pieces
    8 oz. butternut squash-chopped 1/2 ” pieces
    2 carrots cut into 2″ matchsticks
    1 leek rinsed well and sliced
    3 celery stalks, chopped
    3.5 oz beans (if using)
    7 oz. broccoli, chopped into small florets
    3.5 oz sugar snap peas, cut in half
    1 bunch kale, roughly chopped

    Melt 2.5 T. butter in large stock pot. Stir in 2 T. flour and cook stirring for 1 min. Gradually add in 3 Qts. of chicken stock and
    bring to a boil. Add potato, squash & carrots and simmer for 7 minutes. Add leek, celery and green beans and simmer for
    5 minutes. Add broccoli and sugar snap peas, simmer for 3 minutes. Add kale and chopped chicken and cook until kale
    is tender and chicken is hot. Season to taste with salt and pepper (about 2 tsp. of salt & 1 tsp. of pepper). If you aren’t serving
    right away, remove from heat and try to cool fast (set pot in sink with cold water and/or divide into smaller containers so it
    can cool faster) so the vegetables don’t overcook.

    You can make your own chicken broth by cooking a whole chicken. It is cheaper than buying broth and you get your broth and chicken in the same step. It is more labor intensive but less expensive.

Leave a Reply

