Baked Kale Chips + a Presidential Debate

3 Oct

Easy & Tasty Baked Kale Chips

There’s no way around it. I’m behind the times with this recipe. Kale chips have been around for several years, but I’m just so great at procrastinating that I’ve managed not to make them until today. But they tasted so good! I pulled them out of the oven when Michael was getting home and he managed to eat most of them while I was making dinner. Of what I tasted, though, they were really yummy! I’m definitely going to be making them again.

Raw Kale

I’ll admit that this plant intimidates me. The leaves are thick and curly and a little bitter and hard to chew. What to do?

Ready to Bake

Well. Along with being a little intimidating, kale also needs some attention before it tastes good. Everything I read says that kale is best after you “massage it.” Seriously. And I thought my basil plant was high maintenance! I ripped off chip-size pieces of kale, lubed them up (with olive oil), and then gave them all a good rub down. My massage actually brought the color out and made the leaves softer, so there definitely is some merit to the massage theory. After a vigorous rub-down, I added sea salt (is this sounding suspiciously like a day at the spa?) and tossed it all in the oven.

Baked Kale Chips

Imagine my surprise when I pulled this result out of the oven. My first thought was that I had messed it up, but after tasting one, I loved it! It has a little bit of a bitter flavor, but the sea salt complements it perfectly. The only thing I would change in the future is adding some parmesan cheese and garlic. Perfection.

Tasty & Easy Baked Kale Chips
1 bunch of kale
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees.

2. Wash the kale really well and then dry it completely. Use a salad spinner. Or a blow dryer. Whatever you use to dry your produce. Just make sure all of the water is dried.

3. Tear off chip-sized pieces of kale, slather them in olive oil, and massage each piece individually.

4. Lay the kale on a baking sheet and sprinkle with sea salt.

5. Bake the chips for 20 minutes and ENJOY!

Fun

Ps: I am watching the debates as I write this, so it’s taking me way too long to finish. So intense! Michael is absolutely freaking out… he keeps pausing it and telling me how he would respond to each question. I’m just hoping he doesn’t jump ship on the whole accounting degree thing and decide to pursue a career in politics… Did anyone else watch the debate tonight?

Leave a Reply

