Cool Kids Eat Kale

1 Oct

I’ve heard forever that it’s important to eat enough leafy greens, but when I make my weekly grocery list, it usually only includes a (small) bag of spinach for salads. Honestly, I don’t know how to eat them outside of a salad. I’ve been trying to eat more leafy greens for awhile now, but my creativity has been pretty limited. Choosing kale as the superfood of the week is pretty ambitious for me because I have no idea what to do with it. This week is going to take a lot of research…

Confession: I bought kale a year ago but was really intimidated by it and let it go bad without using a single leaf. Don’t tell Michael.

Goal: This week is going to be different.

Ps: Speaking of this week being different. Remember my basil plant? It’s looking a little sad these days. I don’t know what the deal is! I’ve been watering it every other day and taking it outside for a few hours every day so it can soak up the sun. In all honesty, I didn’t realize it would be such a high-maintenance plant… But I’m determined to keep it alive. Any suggestions? I need some serious help.

I digress.

Kale Nutritional Information
(info from here)

Nutritionists recommend that every adult eat at least 1 entire cup of leafy greens. Are you getting enough? If not, you might want to study up on how to include more Swiss chard, mustard greens, kale, collards, broccoli, and romaine in your diet.

Kale in particular is a great leafy green to eat during pregnancy because it helps your body to neutralize toxins that can cause cancer. It also prevents ovarian cancer, so if you are having a girl, eat up! It can provide ovarian health benefits to your baby as early as your second trimester. What? Yes. Seriously. I’m having a boy, but I’m pretty fond of my own ovaries, so I’m gonna eat the kale anyway.

Ready to find out how to prepare kale? Yeah, me too. Make sure to grab some at the grocery store and stay tuned 🙂

Ps: I ran 2.5 miles today at 10:00 min/mile pace. Truth. 

10:00 min/mile!

See that pace? Yep, that was me.

You have my permission to raise your eyebrows. I was so impressed with myself that I had a little one-woman dance after I got home. To this song. Btw, best running song ever? I do believe so.

3 Responses to “Cool Kids Eat Kale”

  1. ellebakes October 2, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    I love kale 🙂 You can use it in a smoothie too..if you add a banana you can’t even taste it..promise 🙂

    • dani :) October 2, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      that is such a great idea! i think i’m gonna jump on the green smoothie bandwagon pretty soon… i’m excited to use my kale in one tomorrow morning 🙂

  2. Lynne October 2, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    I am also guilty of the buying-kale-and-letting-it-go-bad-because-I-didn’t-know-how-to-use-it scene. Would love to see what kinds of recipes you try!

Leave a Reply

