One of Those (Lazy) Days

11 Sep

Just like the Joshua Radin song, it’s just been one of those days in my neck of the woods. Not a depressing day like Josh’s, but one of those lazy days nonetheless.

I am at my parents’ house and have spent all day in my pj’s. Yep, it rocks. And is slightly shameful. I have, however, brushed my teeth and taken my prenatal vitamins (2 points for me!). I had a lot of work to get done today, so I haven’t actually done my workout of yet and I’m still trying to talk myself into getting it done.

Lucy & Tag

Instead of working out, I’ve been hanging out with these two, who are just like Pinkie and the Brain but hungrier.

Here’s my goal: 15 minutes after I press “Publish” I will be in my workout clothes pumping iron. Yeah!

One of the things I struggle with most is getting to the gym or getting out and sweating when I am just having one of those days.

Along with that, wanna know what’s on my mind today? (aside from heartburn…) GOAL MOTIVATION. I realized the other day that making sure you are properly motivated is the only way you will ever accomplish a goal. Ps: thanks for the pep talk, husband!

The Why Behind the Goal

Kara Goucher

{source}
Wanna look like Kara Goucher? I definitely do! She’s so awesome! Not only is she a marathoner and Olympian, she’s also a mom, writer, and probably the cutest girl ever. Oh, and she has a killer bod. Having a picture like this posted somewhere prominent is a great reminder of the WHY behind my goals.

Before you set the goal to go to the gym every day, it’s important to sit down and figure out WHY you want to go to the gym every day. Do you want to lose weight? Feel better about yourself? Have more energy? De-stress? Whatever your motivation, figure out exactly why you want to go to the gym each day.

One you have figured out the WHY, be a little more specific. If you want to lose weight, how much weight do you want to lose? Exercise will definitely help you feel better about yourself, but what exactly are you looking for? Do you want to feel more confident in your appearance or in your ability to do hard things? If you want to have more energy, what do you want to do with that extra energy? Run a marathon? Be able to play with your kids for longer? If you want to de-stress, what is that you need a mental break from specifically? Are you looking for peace of mind away from sticky family relationships or a bad job?

See, that wasn’t too hard. A billion questions later and you should have the very specific WHY behind your goal to exercise. Now for another question: Why is it important to find the WHY behind your goals? Easy! Because they help keep you motivated when you reeeeaally don’t want to work out.

Use the WHY as Motivation

If you want to exercise to lose weight, find an old picture of you at an ideal weight and put it in a prominent place. If you have never really been in shape, print out a picture of a celebrity or an athletic ad that gives you a reference of what you want to look like. When you see this picture, it will remind you that heading to the gym–hard as it may be–will be worth it… eventually 🙂 Use this strategy to remind you of the specific reason that you want to exercise. Eventually you will develop a routine of working out and you won’t need to be reminded of why you’re doing it. It will just become intuitive!

Leave a Reply

