Week 1 of Pregnancy…

10 Sep
Ogden Marathon!!

Me and my sister Jill a few minutes after victoriously crossing the finish line of the Ogden Marathon.

I found out I was pregnant when I was 5 weeks along, and it didn’t take me too long to do some math and figure out that when I ran the 2012 Ogden Marathon with my sister, Jill, when I was technically in my 1st week of pregnancy. Um, yeah, I rock.

I’m pretty sure that was the last time I did some serious exercising though, so before you get too impressed with me, I should disclose that I have turned into a lazy, pregnant slug. Complete with slime and tentacles. It goes without saying that my husband can’t keep his paws off of me… rawr.

Like all pregnant women (aside from the lucky few), my energy levels during my first trimester were… embarrassingly low. So low, in fact, that peeling myself out of my bed before 11am was something akin to torture. Not quite torture, but something akin to it. And was always accompanied by barfing.

So here I am in my 16th week of pregnancy (17th tomorrow!) and ready to get sweating again! I am under no delusion that I will be out on 2-hour training runs, but I have a few (modest) goals for my pregnancy.

Pregnancy Exercise Goals
1. Run a Thanksgiving 10K

2. Walk throughout my entire 3rd trimester

3. (and this is by far the most ambitious…) run a Fall marathon in 2013 (which will give me a solid 7-9 months to train)

Brace yourself for some exercising/baby plans/healthy eating/maybe a little whining along the way.

Leave a Reply

